Manis and lacquers

50 Shades of Grey LE Collection by OPI

I received all six shades of the 50 Shades of Grey LE Collection by OPI, from Loxa Beauty this week. From vampy cool toned red to the smoldering deep toned grey (w/just a hint of blue-tone), this ensemble will surely inspire you to paint your nails and go to town! I have to say, the some of the formulas were on the thin side of application, but each only needed two coats to opacity. I had a bit of trouble with pooling on the red, Romantically Involved, but it only happened on one nail. The fluidity of the formula took me by surprise. Each creme dried quickly, applied smooth and dried glossy. Here are a couple shot of the bottles.

From left: My Silk Tie, Romantically Involved and Cement the Deal.
From left: My Silk Tie, Romantically Involved and Cement the Deal.

I like how the grey shades were sort of stepped, and I plan on trying a gradient when I get the chance. Then the other three took on a different personality from snappy silver, sparkly silver with blue glitters and sexy red.

From left: Embrace the Gray, Shine on Me and Dark Side of the Mood.
From left: Embrace the Gray, Shine on Me and Dark Side of the Mood.

You can now get all six shades from the LE Collection of 50 Shades of Grey by OPI now from Loxa Beauty! The film adaptation of the 2011 romance novel by British author E.L. James is due to be released in theaters on February 13, 2015.

“Surrender to the passion. Surrender to the color.” Pick up your OPI 50 Shades of Grey polishes today at Loxa Beauty!

• Click – My Silk Tie

My Silk Tie is a pearlescent silver but also on the shimmery side. I used two coats, but depending on your style of application you might want three if you have trouble with brush strokes. I used Dark Side of the Mood on the accent.
My Silk Tie is a pearlescent silver but also on the shimmery side. I used two coats, but depending on your style of application you might want three if you have trouble with brush strokes. I used Dark Side of the Mood on the accent.

• Click – Romantically Involved

Romantically Involved is the one crimson shade in a creme finish and it represents the "red room of pain". Two coats.
Romantically Involved is the one crimson shade in a creme finish and it represents the “red room of pain”. Two coats.

• Click – Dark Side of the Mood

Dark Side of the Mood is a a dark slate creme with the tiniest hint of shimmer in the right light, but just barely there. Two coats.
Dark Side of the Mood is a a dark slate creme with the tiniest hint of shimmer in the right light, but just barely there. Two coats.

• Click – Shine for Me

Shine for Me is a stunning shimmering teal and blue-sparked silver mettalic microglitter. Great for an accent nail with other shades from this LE collection. I found it dried slightly textured but added a coat of Gelous on top, smooth as a baby's hiney. I applied one thin coat over My Silk Tie as a topper, a great combo (and one thin coat over Dark Side of the Mood so you could see it layered) but you could definitely get away with it being opaque on it's own in 2-3 coats.
Shine for Me is a stunning shimmering teal and blue-sparked silver mettalic microglitter. Great for an accent nail with other shades from this LE collection. I found it dried slightly textured but added a coat of Gelous on top, smooth as a baby’s hiney. I applied one thin coat over My Silk Tie as a topper, a great combo (and one thin coat over Dark Side of the Mood so you could see it layered) but you could definitely get away with it being opaque on it’s own in 2-3 coats.

• Click – Cement the Deal

Cement the Deal can best be described as a light stone creme. Two coats accented with other shades from the collection.
Cement the Deal can best be described as a light stone creme. Two coats accented with other shades from the collection.

• Click – Embrace the Gray

Embrace the Gray, a soft taupe-y grey creme which reminds me of cement that has just been mixed. Two coats.
Embrace the Gray, a soft taupe-y grey creme which reminds me of cement that has just been mixed. Two coats.

Conclusion: I liked this collection and felt like they all were very complimentary with each other. I loved layering the Shine on Me over My Silk Tie…total win there. I love reds and one would think with all the reds I own, I’d have a dupe. But nope! I looked and this is unlike my other reds. The thin formula is workable and makes this one worth it. I’m not a huge fan of grey/gray 😉 but they do gradient nicely together. My fave grey in this collection is the Dark Side of the Mood. What do you think? Got it, want it, on the fence? Loxa Beauty also has the set of minis as well!

OPI Nail Lacquer is rich, long-lasting, high shine, colored nail polish for natural nails. OPI Nail Lacquers contain everything you want, nothing you don’t. Contains no DBP, toluene or formaldehyde and they are not tested on animals Lacquers feature OPI’s exclusive ProWide Brush.

Visit Loxa Beauty everywhere!

https://www.facebook.com/LoxaBeauty

https://www.youtube.com/user/ShopLoxaBeauty

Loxa Beauty

See On
http://instagram.com/shopLoxa/

I can’t personally expound much on the “Grey” trilogy, other than the 2nd installment of the books is named Fifty Shades Darker and the 3rd is Fifty Shades Freed. Both were published in 2012. But from what I’ve read from reviews of the trilogy, the story line is steamier than a July picnic in Louisiana! I may not be able to handle that, but I had no trouble with these fab polishes.

Your DISCOUNT CODE is $5 off of $25 or more! Code: 8FU9JG

* These products were sent to me for review. All opinions are my own.

Leave a comment