Colorizing your world, one digit at a time

You know I like to save the best for last! In this final insertion of my review of Chloe & Bella lacquers I swatched three polishes that give thought to the skies. The same skies we all live under even though we sometimes feel like we are worlds apart. Do any of you remember the song, “Somewhere Out There”, from the 1987 movie An American Tail? Well, that’s what these three polish names, Stormy, Midnight and Starlight, reminded me of! Yeah, I’m weird like that. 😉

From left: Stormy, Midnight and Starlight!

From left: Stormy, Midnight and Starlight!

Because of the shifts in the shimmers of these polishes, I wanted you to see them in outdoor shade and sunshine as well. Two coats over a sheer silver and the accent nail one coat over black.

Because of the shifts in the shimmers of these polishes, I wanted you to see them in outdoor shade and sunshine as well. Two coats over a sheer silver and the accent nail one coat over black.

Stormy in the sun. Lol I know, a bit of an oxymoron. But it is lovely how the purple flickers in the sunshine. I prefer it over black. The formula is sheer, yet not watery, very smooth application.

Stormy in the sun. Lol I know, a bit of an oxymoron. But it is lovely how the purple flickers in the sunshine. I prefer it over black. The formula is sheer, yet not watery, very smooth application.

Barbara describes Stormy as “a cool gray cream with lots of vibrant violet sparkling highlights. The gray cream reminds me of the clouds on a stormy summer day, with the violet sparks being beautiful lightening. Stormy has medium coverage with one coat, and full coverage with two coats.” I found Stormy to be sheer coverage and three coats should bring it to full coverage. For fun I wanted to see what Stormy would look like over black and it’s a gorgeous topper too. I wanted you to see how cool it looks and the color shifts in the sun.

Next is my fave of the bunch, Midnight. I have nothing else like it in my collection. A very unique shade!

Midnight in the outdoor shade. No topcoat but I would recommend it even though it's already plenty shiny.

Midnight in the outdoor shade. No topcoat but I would recommend it even though it’s already plenty shiny.

I love Midnight in the sun! ;-)

I love Midnight in the sun! 😉

Barbara describes Midnight as “a very dark and mysterious navy blue that’s so dark, in some lighting it may actually look black. And keeping true to the mightnight sky, there is a sprinkling of shimmering silver glitter that you’ll swear look like stars! Midnight has medium coverage with one coat, and full coverage with two coats.” This is my favorite! It is nearly full coverage in one coat and I used two. It sparkles like a midnight sky in shade and really sparkles in the sun. I didn’t use a topcoat but it is recommended.

And finally I have Starlight. The application is smooth and fast drying. I’m on the fence about the amount of holographic triangles here. If there were too many it would take away from the loveliness of the sparkly base. Yet I did have a bit of trouble getting to them for applying the glitters. I think too many on the nail would take away from the look. Yet they are pretty on this shimmery silver. Maybe leave it as is and request a tiny packet of extras? No worries though. It worked out lovely in the end.

Starlight in the shade.

Starlight in the shade.

Starlight in some dappled sunlight. Yeah, these holographic triangles are so sparkly, they really catch your eye.

Starlight in some dappled sunlight. Yeah, these holographic triangles are so sparkly, they really catch your eye.

Barbara describes Starlight as “a gorgeous silver metallic base, loaded with scatter holo, and then topped off with silver holo triangle glitters. This Starlight’s sparkle will give the night sky a run for its money! Starlight will dry slightly textured on the nail. We recommend using a top coat to create a gorgeous glass-like finish. Starlight is semi-sheer at one coat and fully opaque at three coats.” I found Starlight to be plenty opaque in two coats. I’d like to see more of the triangle glitters in this one because they are so pretty. But like I said, a few extras in a lil packet would be great! I wouldn’t put that many on each nail, but they can be somewhat difficult to get to. All three of the formulas are smooth and easy to apply.

Well, this is the end of this series! Phew, I hope you enjoyed taking a gander at some of Chloe & Bella’s pretties. Now, get shopping!

Shop and visit Barbara here:

Store: http://www.chloeandbella.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chloeandbellacosmetics

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/chloeandbellacs/

Instagram: @chloeandbellacs

Twitter: @ChloeAndBellaCS

Note: These polishes were sent to me for review and all opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

