Super Nails Birthstone Collection Pt. 1

This is my first experience swatching for Super Nails. I’m no stranger to glitter toppers. I’ve reviewed plenty. Although I have swatched my share of minis, I truthfully admit I hate trying to hold these lil stinkers with one hand and holding my big ole DSLR camera in the other. It’s tough! No, it’s sometimes painful. But owner KC said most of her sales are her minis and that’s what she likes to advertise. Far be it from me to change her business model. I am telling you, whether you pick up full size or minis, you will love the quality of her polishes.

Prepare yourself and grab some coffee or tea…tons of photos coming right up. I will be reviewing 6 birthstone polishes from,the collection. Three in this post and three in the next. In between I’ll delight you with a gorgeous custom KC created for me for which I’m over the moon about! First up is April Diamond.

April Diamond is spelled BLING!

April Diamond is spelled BLING!


Great even if you weren't born in April!

Great even if you weren’t born in April!

KC describes April Diamond as “Clear polish base with dense silver metallic glitters of all sizes. Would be a great glitter topper for use in a glitter gradient manicure, or simply on top of any color.”

Diamonds really are a girl's best friend!

Diamonds really are a girl’s best friend!


This glitter topper is loaded, seriously loaded! And it goes on smooth, never clumpy or stringy.

This glitter topper is loaded, seriously loaded! And it goes on smooth, never clumpy or stringy.

Next is June Pearl. So soft and delicate. This will be a great topper for some Christmas mani because it reminds me of snow!

June Pearl is so elegant.

June Pearl is so elegant.


Pearls may be old school but that's what makes them so special.

Pearls may be old school but that’s what makes them so special.

Again, the formula was quite pleasing. Not quite as densely packed as Diamond, but I found it perfect for dispersion because I’m planning a great lil winter scene when it turns cold again!

Gorgeous placed over any base shade.

Gorgeous placed over any base shade.


As you can see in this macro shot, the delicate matte pearl glitters are so soft looking. A great glitter if you want to wear it to the office without blinding your boss!
Macro on the nail.

Macro on the nail.

KC describes June Pearl as “Clear polish base with dense pearly white glitters of all sizes. Would be a great glitter topper for use in a glitter gradient manicure, or simply on top of any color.”

Bottle macro.

Bottle macro.

And the last of the three for today’s post, July Ruby! Remember to come back in a couple of days for the follow up with the other three I’m reviewing: August Peridot, September Sapphire and October Opal.

July Ruby is a true Ruby red. A perfect red!

July Ruby is a true Ruby red. A perfect red!

Makes me wish I was born in July, but I was born in January (Garnet). Close!

Makes me wish I was born in July, but I was born in January (Garnet). Close and I can’t wait to see what my birthstone polish will look like!

There were so many ways I could have swatched this beauty for you. Even with the mini size bottle, the size of the glitters were not difficult to apply. I decided on this holo filled blue, sort of patriotic, called Dream, by Zoya for my base coat.

This will be great to use for your holiday nail art as well!

This will be great to use for your holiday nail art as well!

KC describes July Ruby as “Clear polish base with holographic and metallic red glitters, and tiny hexes.”

July Ruby is simply gorgeous. Imagine it in a jelly sandwich!

July Ruby is simply gorgeous. Imagine it in a jelly sandwich!

Here are a couple macro shots of Ruby…

Macro shot on the nail. One coat over red undies.

Macro shot on the nail. One coat over red undies.


July Ruby in the bottle.

July Ruby in the bottle.

That’s it for today. I should have the other toppers swatched in a couple of days.

I’ve found that using little squares of felt does an amazing job and way better than cotton balls. I had no problem removing any of these glitters at all. But, back to Super Nails!

Here is the backstory KC sent me about why she chose to produce birthstone polishes! “Birthstone polishes! I used to manage a bead and jewelry shop, so birthstones were a very common material for me to work with. I wanted to put both of my hobbies (of making jewelry and making nail polish) together, by creating gemstone inspired nail polishes. I began with the basic and most popular gemstones, because everyone has a birthday!”

Makes sense to me. 🙂 One would think you’d see more birthstone polishes out there dedicated to the gem of your month. This is a great idea and would make great birthday gifts for those polish lovin’ gals in your life.

Find Supernails at
Store: https://www.etsy.com/shop/SuperNails
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Super1Nails
Instagram: @kseagale
Blog: http://www.super1nails.blogspot.com

These products were provided to me for review and all opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “Super Nails Birthstone Collection Pt. 1

  1. Such beautiful glitters, I’d love to have the April Diamond, my son’s birthstone. Can’t wait to see her March polish, my daughter’s birth month! Her Raspberry Smoothie polish she created for you is also stunning, you’re right, you can’t beat a gold & pink combo!!

Leave a Reply

