Hello Kitty. Get on my nails!

Hello Kitty. Get on my nails!

It was only a matter of time. These are simply the cutest, “Kawaii” polish bottles I’ve ever seen. I didn’t set out on shopping day to bring home nail polish intended for little girls but the display at my local Walmart stopped me dead in my tracks. It was an end cap and not really near the other polishes. Sly Walmart…very sly πŸ˜‰

Hello Kitty display at Walmart.

Hello Kitty display at Walmart.

Besides this pale blue HK, no names, a raspberry pink kitty also followed me home. I haven’t tried the other one yet. Now, these HK polishes by Sanrio ( http://www.sanrio.com ) are .47 fl oz, non-toxic and peelable. I’m looking forward to seeing how that works. But I have to admit, it smells like Elmer’s Glue! Imagine that. I had to use three coats, no base coat and the first two layers are sheer and streaky. To be expected. Third coat went on fine and I embellished my cute mani with some fimo flowers and a kitty. Plus I topped a few of my nails with a thin layer of China Glaze Fairy Dust. You know a girl’s gotta have some sparkle right? The brush is a nice size and easy to work with. This dries fairly fast and pretty glossy for a glue based polish. The big ole kitty doesn’t remove for application but that suited me just fine. I found it easy to hold this way. Not too sure about a 5-year-old managing it with their tiny hands.

I wanted to mention, after all the swatching I had to catch up on today, and days forthcoming, I wanted finish off with the blue mani in honor of Autism Awareness for the month of April. No matter what colors I swatch and review, I’ll be finishing my day with a blue themed mani all April!

If I was to give these adorable polishes a score on the scale of 1-10, I’d give it an 8! There are 12 beautiful shades to choose from and they are $2.97 at Walmart. Availability may be seasonal, I have no idea, but you might contact your Walmart store for details. I can’t give you a report on it’s longevity because if you know me, that’s moot! Speaking of kitties…here’s my real kitty, Hermione!

My own Hello Kitty, Hermione! She's not white but she's just as cute! ;-)

My own Hello Kitty, Hermione! She’s not white but she’s just as cute! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

